Breakfast · Food

Baked Eggs: New eggs for a new year. I’m not yolking around.

My birthday is at the beginning of January. By the time I make the rounds between friends and both sides of my family, I usually get treated to a few birthday meals. So I make post-birthday resolutions instead of New Year’s resolutions. Otherwise I honestly would just be setting myself up for failure. My post-birthday resolutions are pretty unoriginal, and the last few years taking off 10-15 pounds has made the list.

I’ve really just failed to find and stick with a good desk job/home life/workout routine since having our second kiddo. Breakfast and I have also had an inconsistent routine. I am not always hungry in the mornings, but I find if I do eat breakfast I tend to eat less throughout the day.

While experimenting in the kitchen trying to use up some random ingredients, I stumbled upon something that just may help my weight loss and breakfast issues. I’ve made a few versions of these a few times a week for the last few weeks. I’ve been alternating between this and Greek yogurt with fruit trying to prevent getting burned out on either.

I’ve been making these eggs the night before or a big batch at the beginning of the week Then I heat them up to eat at work the next morning (about 30 second in the microwave). 1-2 fills me up till lunch. You can use different ingredients to make different variations. They are (drumrooooolllllll) . . . . baked eggs! Not excited about baked eggs yet? Just wait!

photo

I preheat the oven or toaster oven to 325 and then spray some ramekins or muffing tin with nonstick spray. Then I make 3 layers. I start with diced veggies as the bottom layer. Add a spoonful of sauce and/or sprinkle some grated cheese for the middle layer, and top it all with an egg. Sprinkle a little salt and pepper on top and pop it in the oven for about 15 minutes. You can leave the eggs in longer if you prefer a harder yolk or less if you prefer a runnier yolk. Just make sure the egg whites have been cooked and are solid white.

My favorite version so far has been diced tomato and pesto.  I have also done sauteed mushroom with Parmesan and black bean with salsa and cheddar. All were delicious. The added bonus to these baked eggs are that you can use a left over veggie side dish or veggies in the fridge whose shelf life is about up. Let me know if you find a good combo for this dish!

7 thoughts on “Baked Eggs: New eggs for a new year. I’m not yolking around.

  1. I love baked eggs too! A splash of cream helps too, if you have it on hand.

    Pesto sounds perfect with it. Baked eggs for a crowd are always great made in a casserole dish that is filled with something like enough sauce, where you can make wells in it and just crack the eggs in the wells.

    Love this title too lmao 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

