Other good stuff · Random Stuff like Books, TV, Movies, Social Media, and Getting Old

Happy weekend!! Here’s a few Netflix movies we rated 5 stars for your viewing pleasure.

These picks are not only approved by me but my husband as well. Twinsters and Meet the Patels are okay to watch as a family, but you may want to wait to put CBGB on after the kids are tucked in bed. Enjoy and comment with any feedback.

IMBD reads about this documentary “Adopted from South Korea, raised on different continents & connected through social media, Samantha & Anaïs believe that they are twin sisters separated at birth.”

We talked a lot through this movie and even about it into the next day. We kept having comments and questions and wondered how we would act and feel in the same situation. By the end we had laughed with and felt sorry for and were happy for these two people. It’s worth your time, I promise.

 

IMBD reads about this documentary “An Indian-American man who is about to turn 30 gets help from his parents and extended family to start looking for a wife in the traditional Indian way.”

Modern day arranged marriages in America are different than what I pictured. Did you know that the parents create documents with a picture and credentials and circulate it to other families like a resume? It’s like a dating profile, but your parents are in charge of it.

I have to be honest that I feel asleep and didn’t get to see how it ended. I plan on finishing it this weekend though. I wasn’t disinterested. It was just a weeknight, and I was feeling kind of sicky. But I almost finished it, and the hubs did finish it. So the recommendation is almost solid.

 

This is not a documentary like the other two but is based on the true story of the man who owned the club CBGB in New York City. The club opened in the 1970s and operated for 33 years. During that time 50,000 bands were given a venue to play original only music. The film focuses mainly on the beginning of the club and its punk rock scene. An added bonus? It has our beloved and departed Alan Rickman as the lead character. Rupert Grint also does a good job of playing a very Un-Weasley like character.

 

4 thoughts on “Happy weekend!! Here’s a few Netflix movies we rated 5 stars for your viewing pleasure.

  1. Perfect timing! I am needing some recommendations for those 3am feedings and I just finished the entire Friday Night Lights collection…sniff.

    On a related note. Do you have any recommendations for TV shows? 45 mins is about the right timing for each feeding. 🙂

    Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yes! Series are a must for those overnight feedings, and we also loved Friday Night Lights.

      I can be a little cheesy, so I like the Gilmore Girls. I am getting ready to start on Parenthood based on my best friend’s recommendation. My husband and I both liked Master of None and the Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt pretty well, but I think those are 30 minute episodes.

      Um so it sounds like we watch a lot of TV, but this has been over the course of a long time I promise!

      Like

Leave a Reply

