Food · Sides and Veggies

Creamy Parmesan Polenta

It’s kind of a joke around our house how much I love Parmesan. When my husband does the grocery shopping, he’ll buy extra for me. I have even been known to carry Parmesan packets around in my purse. A sprinkle of Parmesan can just make so many things better.

I also love polenta, and putting the two together makes for one of my favorite dishes. To change things up I like to make Parmesan polenta in place of a potato or pasta dish. The picture shows dinner from Saturday night where I served polenta with a roasted chicken breast and carrots. I also really like it with meatballs and marinara.

polenta

 

Creamy Parmesan Polenta

2 TBL olive oil

½ onion minced

4 ½ cups of chicken broth

1 ¼ cup yellow cornmeal

¾ cup shredded parmesan

¾ cup milk

5 TBL butter

Salt and pepper to taste

 

Heat olive oil in large pot over medium heat. Add onions and cook until they are translucent.

Add the chicken broth, and bring to a boil. Gradually whisk in the cornmeal.

Turn the heat to low, and cook for 15 minutes stirring often.

While the cornmeal/broth mixture is cooking, in a medium mixing bowl combine the Parmesan, milk, and butter.

After the 15 minutes is up remove the cornmeal from heat, and stir in the Parmesan, milk, and butter mixture until combined. You may need to add a little extra milk and butter to get the desired texture. Salt and pepper to taste.

4 thoughts on “Creamy Parmesan Polenta

    1. It’s cooked cornmeal, kind of like grits. I serve it creamy, but I’ve also seen polenta cakes where it’s firmer like cornbread.

      I serve it in place of mashed potatoes in meals. I also see it served a lot with ragu.

      Like

Leave a Reply

