Food · Sides and Veggies

Honey Lemon Roasted Brussel Sprouts and Apples with Bacon

Stop, collaborate and listen. Lincoln and Lacey are back with a brand new invention. . .

That’s right. As I was cooking dinner last night my little helper had the best idea. I’m beaming with pride actually. My three year old son, Lincoln, loves to help me cook. Typically he is in charge of any and all mixing duties. But as I was trimming the brussel sprouts he kept putting a whole apple on the cutting board. I would give it back to him, and he would put the apple in the pan.

Finally after a few times of this, I stopped being in such a hurry to get dinner ready. I stopped and talked to him. He had been telling me he wanted me to cut up the apples to roast with the brussel sprouts. I stopped and thought about the flavors I was going to use: lemon, honey, bacon. Then decided, yep. Yep he was right. There was no reason apples wouldn’t go good with that too. And you know what? It was amazing. Truly.

Brussel sprouts are my absolute favorite vegetable. I mean it when I say that I could just eat a pan of roasted Brussel sprouts in one seating for a meal. I know when some people hear about brussel sprouts they think, “Ewwww .”  I don’t like them boiled because it makes them mushy. So if you think you don’t like them I would encourage to try them roasted. If you still don’t like them, I’ve read that some people have a gene that makes the chemical in them taste super bitter. I hope you love them though! We served ours with mashed cauliflower and salmon patties.

Roasted brussel sprouts and apples

1 lb Brussel sprouts

1 apple

3 strips cooked bacon crumbled

2 Tbl olive oil

1 Tbl lemon juice

1 Tbl honey

2 cloves mince garlic

Salt and pepper

 

Pre-heat oven to 400. Rinse, trim, and halve brussel sprouts. Slice the apple.

 

In a small mixing bowl combine olive oil, lemon juice, honey, and garlic. Toss the sprouts and apple slices in mixture.

 

Lay in single layer on 9×13 pan. Sprinkle with salt and pepper.

 

Cook for about 25 minutes or until brussel sprouts are golden brown. Toss half way through.

 

Sprinkle bacon crumbles on top, and salt and pepper further to taste if needed.

3 thoughts on “Honey Lemon Roasted Brussel Sprouts and Apples with Bacon

Leave a Reply

