Food · Soups

Crock Pot Chicken Taco Soup

It was a weird weekend were I wasn’t feeling 100%, and everyone was just kind of lethargic. We literally slept and cuddled the whole time. I’m not proud of it, but it wasn’t until Sunday that I cooked anything for my family. Since it was a chilly weekend, and I wanted to spend the least amount of time in the kitchen as possible I came up with this “dump” dish where I just threw these ingredients into the crock pot. You know what? It was easy, hearty, warm, and comforting. So I am calling it a keeper, and sharing it here.

The soup was great how it was but keeping the kids in mind, it was not at all spicy. If you want a kick to it I would suggest using spicier salsa. I used mild. You could also dice jalapeno to add. My husband added a dash of cayenne pepper at the end and was good with that. Then we topped with a dollop of sour cream, shredded cheese, and tortilla chips.

Crock Pot Chicken Taco Soup

1 large chicken breast

1 cup water

1 cup salsa

1 can black beans, do not need to drain

1 can whole kernel corn, do not need to drain

1 packet taco seasoning

1 small diced onion

2 cloves minced garlic

Salt and pepper and cayenne to taste when it is finished

Garnish with any combo of shredded cheese, sour cream, tortillas, tortilla chips, or hot sauce that you want.

Put the first 8 ingredients in the crock pot on high for 3-4 hours or until the chicken is cooked through. When it is cooked remove the chicken, shred it, and put it back in the crock pot. Stir mixture. If you want more liquid, you can add more water or salsa. Add salt and pepper and cayenne to taste. Serve and garnish.

6 thoughts on “Crock Pot Chicken Taco Soup

  1. I love the idea of this….we eat a lot of soup here. I just have this weird thing with corn. I feel like it should only be eaten on the cob. Maybe I could sub in green peppers or something??

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

