Food · Sandwiches

Chicken Pesto Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Remember about a month ago when I could not stop posting about soups? Well I think I may be entering into my next phase, grilled cheeses. Besides the fact that there are endless delicious possibilities for grilled cheeses, I think they subconsciously remind me of summertime. When we were kids we would make them most days for lunch. They are quick, easy, people pleasing sandwiches.

I used leftovers from a roast chicken we had from dinner the day before. Canned or rotisserie chicken would work too. While I do make pesto, this was store bought and worked fine. I used an Italian cheese mix, but mozzarella or provolone would be perfect. Maybe even sprinkle a little Parmesan. Be sure to also check out a previous grilled cheese post here, Italian Grilled Cheese Sandwich.

Chicken Pesto Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Chicken Pesto Grilled Cheese Sandwich

2 pieces of buttered, sliced Italian bread

2-3 Tbsp pesto sauce

1/4 cup cooked shredded chicken

1/4 cup of shredded cheese (I used an Italian cheese mix combo. Mozzarella or provolone would work well.)

 

In a small bowl mix pesto, chicken, and cheese.

On one side coat the pieces of bread in butter.

Build the sandwich by placing the buttered sides of the bread out and spreading the chicken mixture in between.

Heat skillet over medium heat. Cook sandwich on each side until golden brown. When turning the sandwich over, do it slowly and carefully so the filling does not come out.

Enjoy!

 

9 thoughts on “Chicken Pesto Grilled Cheese Sandwich

  1. Yum, Yum, Yum! Thank you for this 🙂 I love that it reminds you of summer, thanks for sharing that … I almost felt like I was there. For some reason, I’m seeing so.me strawberry jam with this sandwich too! Have a blessed day.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

