Family · Other good stuff · Random Stuff like Books, TV, Movies, Social Media, and Getting Old

Books I Want to Read to my Kids. What’s on your list?

img_0785

There are some books that made such an impression on me growing up that I can’t wait to read them to my kids. Some of these books are because I remember my mom reading them to us, like The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain, Great Expectations  by Charles Dickens, and Where the Sidewalk Ends by Shel Silverstein. Others are ones that we read in school like A Wrinkle In Time by Madeleine L’Engle, Mr. Poppers Penguins by Richard and Florence Atwater, Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak, and Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good Very Bad Day by Judith Viorst. Others, like Shiloh by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor and The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams I stumbled across on my own.

My love for series started young with The Baby-Sitters Club by Ann M. Martin and then on to Nancy Drew books by Carolyn Keen. And of course did any kid not read R.L Stine books? I even went onto explore Christopher Pike. Since getting into a series is like a personal relationship, I don’t want to have to commit my kids to a ton of them. I would like to share, or course, Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling and The Chronicles of Narnia by  C.S. Lewis with them though.

My kids are so young that most of these will have to wait a tad longer, but I am excited to share them. I also can’t wait to see what they get into on their own. Do you have a dream list of books to read with your kids? What’s on it?

 

 

 

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “Books I Want to Read to my Kids. What’s on your list?

  1. After the Dr Seuss books, Sherlock Holmes mysteries, and Lord of the Rings, while I read Tom sawyer and Huckleberry Finn I think kids won’t enjoy them because of the language, reread them and see what I mean. Oh yeah Hardy Boys mysteries!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My kids love Dr. Seuss now 🙂 I like that they like them, but there’s a limit to how many my tongue can read a night.

      I don’t remember alot about Tom Sawyer. I remember that was the first chapter book that was read aloud to me, and I liked that. I also remember there was lots of opportunities for vocab lessons. So you may be right.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I want to read with my kids, the books no one ever had me read. A degree in literature and I have never read one Charles Dickens or Jane Austen novel?! Harry Potter definitively when they get a little older. And then we hit teenage years we will cram the classics together with their summer reads!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ha! I love it. I’m not very well read in the classics. I mean, I’ve read a handful sure, but I should probably read those with my kids in their teenage years too.

      As far as Harry Potter goes, I don’t know if it’s feasible to keep them from watching the movies until they read the books. I want to though. What do you think?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I desperately wanted to hold off on the movies for the age that the books would be appropriate. But my stepson watches the movies with his mom…and I don’t know how much longer I can hold my husband back from visiting the Harry Potter World at Universal. I really wanted to save that until we at least got one book under our belt.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Love this post Lacey– we read to our 4 kids every night when they were growing up– I have such a list!! but by favorites were Number the Stars, the BFG, Sarah Plain and Tall. For little kids No Jumping on the Bed (wacky fun), Noah’s Ark by Peter Speire (beautiful), all the Nadine Wescott singalong books (whimsical fun illustrations). One of the biggest things I miss about teaching is reading after lunch to my class. Happy reading with those cute kids of yours!! hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Hobbit is my husbands favorite. I bet that gets put into our rotation too. Love Knights of the Round Table 🙂 I’m going to look up the other 2 since I haven’t heard of them. Peter and the Star Catchers sounds like a good one base on the titel.

      Like

Leave a Reply

