Food · Sandwiches

Stuffed Focaccia with Balsamic Glazed Pork and Vegetables

img_0920

Okay really this is just a giant sandwich, but “stuffed focaccia” sounded like a new and fun way to say that. This stuffed focaccia also sounds like a lot of steps, but it’s really easy. Plus, there is so much going on here it’s a meal in and of itself. When I made it I seriously did not make any sides. I stood there in the kitchen and thought to myself, “This is LOADED with bread, cheese, meat AND veggies. What would go with it? Wait! Why does something HAVE to go with it?” And then I promptly talked myself out of cooking anymore, sat down, and tried to be lazy for the rest of the day. Which was okay because it was a Sunday, and I feel like that’s allowed on Sundays.

I am going to keep this in my back pocket the next time I go to a football gathering or somewhere I need to bring finger party food. I’ll just cut the pieces smaller or make it open face. Added bonus tips, chicken would work as a great pork substitute. You can mix and match and play around with the vegetables. I used what I had on hand.

img_0924

 

4 thin boneless pork chops

1 cup sliced baby portabella mushrooms

1 cup sliced sweet bell peppers

1 cup sliced purple onion

1/3 cup balsamic vinegar

1/3 cup olive oil

1/2 TBSP garlic salt

1/2 TBSP Herbs de provence or Italian seasoning

1/2 tsp pepper

2 TBSP flour

2 cups shredded Italian blend cheese

Place the pork chops, mushrooms, peppers, and onions in a slow cooker. In a small bowl whisk together the balsamic vinegar, olive oil, garlic salt, pepper, herbs de provence, and flour until blended. Pour the liquid over the meat and vegetables in the slow cooker and cook until meat is cooked through and vegetables are tender. For my 4 quart slow cooker it takes this recipe about 2 hours on high and 4 hours on low.

Preheat oven to 350. Then drain the extra liquid from the slow cooker to reserve to dip your sandwich in. Remove the pork chops, and thinly slice. Mix the cheese, slices of pork, and vegetables together.

Slice the focaccia loaf down the middle and fill with the pork mixture. It may be easier to cut the loaf in smaller pieces. Place on a baking stone or cookie sheet and bake until cheese is melted. Serve with a side of the reserved liquid from the slow cooker for dipping and enjoy!

 

 

14 thoughts on “Stuffed Focaccia with Balsamic Glazed Pork and Vegetables

Leave a Reply

