Family

When you are sucking at life

The last part of the year was a struggle. For months I had constant migraines. Then starting in October it felt like my family was sick non-stop for 3 months straight. We passed around a virus, then strep, then a stomach bug. I’ve said it here before, but I was worn out in a way that one night of good rest when I could get it was not cutting it. My mind, my body, my everything was chronically run down.

In turn I was straight up sucking at life. I mean I was struggling to get out of bed, make it through work days, not having the energy to keep up with anything at home when I finally made there after work. I was forgetting about plans I had made (not like me), screwing up meetings at work (not like me), and could not keep up with me kids (not like me). Just overall I was having trouble keeping up with life, and what I was getting done Β was getting done pretty crappily. I was sick of it. I knew the people around me had to be sick of it.

It turns out I just needed a break, like a for real and legit break. I had 11 days off at work over the holidays.Β To be honest until now, my time off since having kids has been pretty exhausting. My son was a terrible sleeper for the first 2 years of his life and then we had another baby. So time off for the last several years as being a new parent hasn’t meant resting up like it did before I had kids. This is not to say that I haven’t enjoyed time off with them. It’s just been an adjustment. Also, I don’t remember when I had this much consecutive time off before.

I’m not sure what was different this time around. We got all our holiday traveling and going done at the beginning. Last year the holidays were full of kid meltdowns, but they were so much fun this year! A few days my daughter wasn’t feeling well, but overall we were healthy. The rest of my time off we watched TV and movies, read books, played outside, slept, cooked. It was exactly what I needed. I needed to do all of that for an extended time. Of course there were times my kids were cranky, but I got to the point were I was rested enough to be better at handling it.

So when you are sucking at life, you probably need a break. Not necessarily a vacation, but a break. I know that sounds obvious, and someone is probably reading this wanting to punch me through their computer. But I didn’t realize how true this was till I actually got it and FEEL the difference it made. Also, there hasn’t always been the opportunity for me to have a break like this. I am fortunate and grateful that the job I started last year afforded this to me.

So if you are out there sucking it up at life, I totally understand. It is so hard, but you can do it. Hang on. Then when you have your chance, seize that break!

22 thoughts on “When you are sucking at life

  1. Oh, Lacey – I love this! What a nurturing and compassionate way of being with yourself.
    Hope you got an amazing rest and I wish for you an incredibly vibrant and healthy 2017 (on all levels). So glad to know you and follow your blog,
    Blessings and love,
    Debbie πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is brilliant advice Lacey. I am so pleased you managed to take that well needed break ! I think we all get to the point where we need ‘time out’, I guess it is just life. All the best for 2017, I wish you and your family a year of health, love and happiness. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love reading this Lacey! You talked a bit about how well your Christmas time had gone with the kids– and it’s so good to hear you had that time to kick back a bit and have a little time to refresh. Good for all moms to hear– and I’m wondering how you can manage more little mini-breaks!! You’re an awesome mom Lacey– great post.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh man, sorry Lacey! I’ve only had a handful of migraines and they were horrible. Can’t imagine dealing with them regularly.

    I know what you mean about not being able to rest up after having kids. Had another baby when my daughter was 2 as well, and you basically never get to sleep in again until the end of time, so it’s harder to recover when you’re exhausted. You get sick more after having kids too. Just one virus after another (that apparently improves when the kids are older).

    Glad you had a vacation and are feeling better!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Erin, yes I CANNOT wait till be get passed the sick all the time point. This is my son’s first year in 5 day school. I think that has a lot to do with it. He’s never gone to day care or anything.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s TOTALLY why! My kids were both only sick maybe once in the first year, then when my older daughter started preschool, we were all coming down with something new almost monthly.

        Crazy–I mean we’d be getting sick again just after recovering, over and over, and it would run through the entire family. I think it’s the combination of immature immune systems and the fact that kids touch and chew everything and never wash their hands, lol.

        My parents are both teachers who say all ever teachers get sick a ton for the first couple years too. But it winds down! It’s already happening less over here. Hang in there πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

