Week in Review

My 1st Week in Review: A new weekly series

I am going to try something new. If you’ve read my blog for more than a second you know it’s all over the place between kids, food, books, movies, other randomness. You may also know, I like that because, well I do what I want… regarding my blog. But I am trying to create something semi consistent. So I’m still going to bounce around about what I post about, but on Fridays there will be a new series.

“Week in Review” will include:

 

1) Did you miss this post?

So in case you missed the Asian Pork Tacos from Monday, you can take a peek.

img_1899

 

2) What’s gotten my attention this week?

Milo Yiannopoulos. I had not heard of him before this week. He was the editor of Breitbart, a far right conservative website. After a video of him surfaced where he made comments about consent being oppressive and opinions seeming to support sex with minors he lost a speaking gig, a book deal, and resigned his position.

I got sucked into reading comments on news stories on the topic and had to snap myself out of it. It got disturbing. I know he had a politically related position and a history of other terrible comments. However, I don’t think these specific personal statements are political, just frightening on their own. It’s something I can’t wrap my brain around. I find his openness about things that are so wrong shocking. I realize he was probably a victim of abuse himself, but hearing about things like this certainly makes me want to keep my kids a little bit closer.

 

 

3) What’s been going on this week?

Work has been long and the kids have been cranky. Also though the weather for February has been uncharacteristically warm for Oklahoma. We’ve had temperatures into the low 80s at times. Some days have been crazy windy, but we’ve had plenty that were perfect too. So we’ve been going on walks and playing in the yard and getting our garden ready for spring planting. We will do garlic and herbs in the front bed and some greens, onions, and broccoli in a little plot in the backyard.

I’m a contributing writer for the Oklahoma City Moms Blog. We got new head shots made (Cassie Duff Photography) , and I took over their instagram account on Tuesday.

 

 

4) What’s going on this weekend?

Last weekend went like this. So all I really hope to do this weekend is take it easy, hang out, read a little, cook a little, and stay in my pajamas a lot.

img_1953

 

5) What blog should you check out?

I’ve been mulling over the idea of doing a reoccurring weekly post for a while, but after reading something from Debbie over at Forgiving Connects I was encouraged to go ahead and do it. (Viola! You are reading it now!) In fact, encouraging just encompasses what comes to mind when I think about Debbie. She blogs about her journey towards forgiveness, self-love, and of course is always there helping others along their journey too. She is a bright spot to my day.

 

So there it is, my first “Week in Review”. Your feed back is welcome 🙂

Also tell me about how your week was and what are you looking forward to this weekend!

Thanks for reading,

Lacey

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

22 thoughts on “My 1st Week in Review: A new weekly series

  1. I, too, like the “week in review!” It’s a wonderful way to do a round-up and give a little insight. I particularly like the “what’s got my attention” and “what blog should you check out.” I find new books to read because of recommendations from others, so recommendations on other blogs is my preferred way of discovering new and interesting people! Very fun- thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lacey!!! I completely, completely love this blog post. Good for you for following your creativity. This very much inspired me, and the fact that you mentioned my blog is like a big virtual hug. Gosh, thank you Lacey. Encouragement is such a quality of loving.

    Have a wonderful weekend. Great photo re: Takeover Tuesday btw.
    Loving, ❤ ❤
    Debbie

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love it Lacey!! Such a smorgesbord of thoughts and ideas. And your new photo is the best! you look adorable. Looking forward to more of your Friday posts… Hope you have a fine weekend ahead… any plans?? I’m mostly staying home and getting started on a big quilt for my Laurel’s wedding this summer. hugs hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well it’s getting cold again, and we have had a long week. I think we will take it way. No big plans.
      Oh a wedding quilt ! We have one from my grandma that will be a one of my prized processions for ever.

      Like

  4. I could totally relate to the “Oh crap…it’s 5pm! ” Lol! 😄 and I love Debbie of Forgiving Connects. She’s really sweet and nice. A ray of sunshine! 😊 Have a wonderful weekend Lacey!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

