Other good stuff · Week in Review

Week in Review 3/3/17

Thanks for checking out the 2nd post in my new weekly series Week in Review. I’d love to know how your week went and what you’ve got going on this weekend!

1) Did you miss this post?

I posted a version of burgers and fries earlier this week with a Salmon Burger and Easy Slaw that I served with roasted sweet potatoes. This one is probably going to make it into our regular meal rotation.

img_1985
Served with roasted sweet potatoes

 

 

2) What’s gotten my attention this week?

The Oklahoma City Zoo. I got to go to a sampling of their new menu with my friend from I am the eggs as a representative with the Oklahoma City Moms Blog. The zoo is no longer selling frozen food and are locally sourcing whenever possible. Their restaurant and their food stands all have new menus. We were served an assortment of items for special events, like hor d’oeuvres and full meal ideas.  My favorite was the bacon wrapped date with blue cheese and a salad that had candied walnuts and poppy seed dressing.

While we were there though we heard staff talking about some exciting changes that I don’t think is on their website yet. Look for wallabies in the children’s area and amazing chicken and waffles at one of the food stands. That’s right, chicken and waffles at the zoo my have me rethinking packing a picnic next time we visit. Most importantly though a guest relations staff member discussed making visits friendlier and  more accommodating for children on the spectrum and with sensory issues. If you call ahead they may be able to help make their visit more enjoyable.

 

 

3) What’s been going on this week?

The kids have been really interested in cooking and Mario. So we’ve spent a lot of time in the kitchen.

 

Last weekend ended up being another working weekend. In an effort to end the game of musical beds being played at our house, my husband and I have been working on getting the kids’ new beds set up. Our idea is to get them excited about their new beds and space so they will want to sleep there. At least one of them is still sneaking into our bed in the early morning hours, but our sleeping arrangements are getting much better.

img_1964

 

 

4) What’s going on this weekend?

This weekend I really would like to rest. Wait! Didn’t I say that about last weekend???

Going to church with my two goofballs has been much easier the last few months. You may know that’s a big deal if you’ve checked out 5 things my son who hates going to church has done. After church we will go visit my dad and step mom on their farm where we get to have a Sunday dinner I don’t have to cook and the kids get to feed all the farm animals.

 

 

 

5) What blog should you check out?

If you aren’t following Rhonda at The Thankful Heart you are missing out. I have never met her, yet I consider her a friend. She is a mother, grandmother, wife, and a recently retired school teacher.

Besides posting BEAUTIFUL recipes, she is interesting. When she was raising her children they lived in Spain. Now her grown kids live or lived from San Francisco to Shanghai and places in between. So she is always posting the neatest pictures about her family and what they are up to. She’s been in the same book club for (I can’t remember exactly how many years. I think it’s something like 20?) an impressive amount of time. That plus her having been a school teacher means she gives great adult and children’s book recommendations.

She is a kind and worldly person that I look forward to hearing from.

 

Thanks for reading,

Lacey

 

 

14 thoughts on “Week in Review 3/3/17

  1. Love this new blog post, Lacey, as you know. 💖💖 Rhonda has an awesome blog, I agree 😀 The salmon burger recipe you did sounds so yummy. Have fun with your kids’ bed (he he) and have a restful weekend full of love. Blessings, Debbie

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What fun to get to be the “food critic” at the zoo! Sounds like they are really making some delicious, healthy changes. Fun to see the bunkbeds at work–kids all tucked in!! And you made me tear-up. Thankful for your kind words–it really meant a lot coming from ou. You’re so real and kind and full of everyday wisdom– I consider you a real friend too Lacey. and P.S. the salmon burgers were great! hugs hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YES! Your comment just made my day. Thanks for all the kind words 🙂
      And I’m SO glad the salmon burgers turned out okay. I would have felt bad if not :/

      Like

Leave a Reply

