Other good stuff · Week in Review

Week in Review 3/10/17

Thanks for checking out my new weekly series Week in Review!

1) Did you miss this post?

Let’s talk about our kids and their right to privacy is a post from January that started a pretty decent discussion on some of my social media pages about what people think we should and should not be posting about our kids. A reader asked if I could post an update recapping responses I got. I’ll be working on that soon, but would love to hear your opinions. Hop on over and join the discussion.

img_1412

 

2) What’s gotten my attention this week?

The Last Man on Earth. It’s a show on Fox in its third season. Really and truly the first few episodes of the series are the very best. As the show has gone on the main character grates on my nerves, but the show is still okay enough to keep tuning in when I can.

Right when I thought the premise of the show had kind of painted itself into a corner a stand alone episode staring Kristen Wigg aired this week. It was a welcome break from the usual characters and added a refreshing turn in the direction of the show. I’ll tune in next week to see what happens.

last-man-on-earth-kristen-wiig-2
Picture from screentv.com

 

3) What’s been going on this week?

I feel like I’ve sprinted through the whole week. Work has been busy, and we’ve been playing hard at home in the evenings. Plus two of my favorite people in the world had birthdays. A shout out goes to my beautiful and kind sister who recently graduated nursing school and my friend of many years (maybe 20?) who is probably the most genuine, open, accepting, understanding person in the universe.

 

4) What’s going on this weekend?

Last weekend was a good mix of relaxing and going. We were pretty lazy Saturday. Sunday we went to my dad and step-mom’s farm. It was chilly but the kids played their little tails off and got to feed all the animals.

We’ve had a lengthy around-the-house to-do list that we’ve been chipping away at. It’s had random stuff on it like putting together the bunk beds I posted about last week. We may actually knock it out this weekend. You know, so we can make a whole new to-do list soon after. 🙂

 

5) What blog should you check out?

Why should you go check out Flying Through Water ? Well I have been following Nikki since she was blogging under A Kinder Way. Even though her blog has changed, the woman behind it is still the same thoughtful, insightful, and supportive blogger from before. She has a weekly series where she promotes other bloggers’ work, is an animal lover, and will pose questions and posts that make you think.

A bonus for everyone, she is having a meet and greet this weekend. GO PARTICIPATE. Seriously. You know those blog parties where you need a manual and to be brushed up on your algebra to just follow the rules? Yeah, that’s not Nikki’s kind of party. They are laid back and fun and you are sure to find some wonderful blogs and people to connect with.

 

 I’d love to know how your week went and what you’ve got going on this weekend!

Thanks for reading,

Lacey

10 thoughts on “Week in Review 3/10/17

  1. Thanks for the shout out!! ❤ That was really sweet.

    I was actually coming here to remind you about the Meet and Greet!

    Those farm pictures are adorable. 🙂 I'm sure figuring out what to post and not to post about your kids is a hard line to walk. My son is 20 and I still don't call him by name on my blog. Social Media was not an issue when he was growing up so there was nothing for me to consider.

    I've never seen that show but Kristen always makes for good screen time. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! Thanks for the meet and greet. I’m going to hop on the computer later and check out more links.
      Yes it’s weird to be the first generations of parents having kids born I Ron the social media age. I guess we will just have to wait and see the effects, but I at least when they are older you can just ask them. Maybe.
      Yes! If you check out last man let me know what’s you think.

      Like

  2. Hi Lacey it’s nice to meet you. You’ve got some wonderful discussions here. I would like to discuss exposing our children on social media, but clicking on the link didn’t take me there. It’s probably me, or my phone. Anyways I’ve really been wanting to discuss that so I’ll be watching for your update. Again, it’s nice to meet you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. LACEY!! I completely love this great blog post idea, as you know 🙂 🙂 🙂 Such good photos of your kids at your dad and stepmom’s farm – they are adorable. And YES I wholeheartedly agree with you on the recommendation for Nikki’s blog. She’s a gem! (As are you)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Another good one Lacey!! Your kids are so lucky to have grandparents with a farm!! real goats!!! And glad there was lots said about the children’s privacy issue– you got the conversation going… take care friend. xo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

