Week in Review

Week in Review 3/31/17

I hope everyone had a great week. Thanks for checking out my weekly series Week in Review, posted every Friday. Enjoy a recap of how the week went down and tell me about yours.

 

1) What’s gotten my attention this week?

World Autism Awareness Day. It’s not until April 2nd, but I have seen so many people already committing to wear blue and promoting different events for the day via social media. Why should you become informed and care? The Centers for Disease Control estimates 1 in 68 children are autistic. You know someone or will know someone with autism. And why not educate ourselves with something that affects so many people and families? Here are some individual posts I want to share.

There is Nothing “Wrong” with my Child

How to Help Families with Children with Special Needs

autism-1417942_1920

2) What blog should you check out?

Well I am going to piggy back off what got my attention this week and highlight (in a house of frank and beans) I am the eggs. She is a wife and mom to 4 boys, 1 with autism. Also, she just so happens to be a real world best friend to yours truly. Personally and in her blog you will find knowledge, kindness, and a freakin fantastic sense of humor. There’s lots of good stuff. You’ll be glad you checked it out.

 

3) What’s been going on this week?

Work, home, sleep, repeat.

Work, home, sleep, repeat.

Work, home, sleep, repeat.

Seriously. I was fighting another headache at the beginning of the week. The weather was colder and rainier than it has been. We pretty much watched a bunch of episodes of The Office and did some table work stuff with the kids.

IMG_1661
Counting and matching amount of beads to numbers
IMG_1716
Working on fine motor skills by cutting pieces of pizza

 

4) What’s going on this weekend?

Ummm… welll…. we have something that may be exciting or a disaster. I mean, that’s how it goes with a 2 and 4 year old, right? I’ll post more about it next week. Tell me all about your weekend plans instead.

 

5) Did you miss this post?

It may feel too late in the year to post a fall type soup, but since it’s been raining fall soup is still sounding good. This Roasted Acorn Squash Soup should be able to make an appearance in your kitchen anytime.

IMG_2087

 

Thanks for reading,

Lacey

16 thoughts on “Week in Review 3/31/17

  1. So my daughter, second grade, got “accepted” into the gifted program at her elementary school. As odd as this sounds, we had to sign off that she is a special needs child.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! Someone else had told me that too. That special needs is kind of stigmatized but covers anything outside of the typical classroom, including gifted.

      And yay for your daughter. That’s exciting.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. We are very excited. The testing was totally bizarre. They went from discouraging us from the program, to telling us she had to be in it, given her test scores. Yay for her (reading and math at 5th grade level, she’s in 2nd grade). Funny thing is, this is a stealth program, the school doesn’t tell anyone it exists. We found out from another parent.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you Lacey! Love the photos how you’re supporting your kids’ learning ❤ Touched my heart. Have a wonderful weekend – hope you are feeling better. Big HUGS. Love, Debbie

    ps – thanks for the information on autism!! Good to know. You are a blessing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Lacey– I’m sad that I am so so far behind on reading your posts!! Had kids home for a couple weeks and was totally occupied cooking, talking and holding a baby on my lap! Love the soup recipe–so homey and warming. And thank you for calling attention to autism. Plus I love the cut out pizzas!! Your two will be so ready for kindergarten!! They are blessed. OK, off to read all the posts I want to catch up on!! Think these Friday reviews are a great idea!! hugs hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Rhonda you soak up that time with your family (especially that sweet baby)! My ramblings will always be here 🙂 I saw the pics from all your visitors and LOVED them.

      Like

Leave a Reply

