Other good stuff · Week in Review

Week in Review 6/30/17

I hope everyone had a great week. Thanks for checking out my weekly series, Week in Review, posted every Friday. Enjoy a recap of how the week went down and tell me about yours.

1) What’s gotten my attention this week?

The YMCA. My friend had a week long family and friends pass she let us use. My routine for working out is squeezing in some strength training in the morning while everyone is asleep. Sometimes in the evening I’ll do 20-30 minute workout videos off Amazon Prime or just count whatever activity the kids and I do as my exercise for the day.

While I minimally make working out work, it is hard to do. I am juggling schedules. Then kids and dogs crawl all over me during the attempted workouts. Even so, I did not expect to like the Y as much as I did. It was really fun trying out different classes or just using an elliptical while catching up with my friend.

The biggest advantage, again that I was not expecting to like, was the childcare. It was so nice to go and focus on working out for an hour and to have that be all I did for that one hour. Also, my mind was at ease because I didn’t feel like I just dumped my kids off. They were there with their friends. The Y also has monitors set up in the play area. So I could I could check in on them anytime from anywhere.

download

2) What blog should you check out?

Susie Lindau’s Wild Ride. Susie is an artist and writer that lives in Boulder, CO. She is a always on an adventure. Most recently she has been sharing with us her vacation in Scotland. I’m very jealous happy for her. It’s been fun to read about and follow along.

She is humorous and smart and fun, and so is her blog. Check it out.

3) What’s been going on this week?

Work and kids. That’s usually my answer, I know. It’s true though. Last week I was feeling stretched thin. Like I would go from work where someone needed something from me every second to home where someone needed something from me every second. Everything just seemed hard.

This week has been smoother. Work has still been busy. When I have gotten home though the kids and I have swam, played, read, and enjoyed each other. Some weeks are easier than others. I guess that’s just the way it is with young kiddos.

IMG_2792.JPG
Sometimes I wonder if they are trying to kill me. Other times I wonder how I could ever wonder that.

4) What’s going on this weekend?

Unplugging. After today I am off work and the family is unplugging for a week. There probably won’t be a Week in Review post next week, and I may or may not be able to catch up on blog reading. So I want to take this time now to wish everyone an amazing and safe holiday.

 

holiday-1489991_640

 

5) Did you miss this post?

Garden Game: WHAT AM I GROWING?!? Help me, please. There are about 4 things we are growing and have no clue what they are. Check out this post for the rest of the mystery plants.

IMG_2807

 

Thanks for reading,

How was your week? Tell me, what are you up to this weekend and doing for the 4th?

9 thoughts on “Week in Review 6/30/17

  1. Do you have the whole week off?! Hooray! The YMCA sounds terrific– is it a long term possibility?? So much better to exercise with friends. And I too am happy (jealous??) for some friends and family taking fabulous trips right now. And– love the kids in their sunglasses!! so cute! Happy time away from work– hope it’s relaxing with some swet fun tucked in too! xox Lacey!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes mam, I had the entire week off. Back at it today feeling rested and ready to get with it.

      I like the Y, but I think we will wait a year before joining it or somewhere like it. WE have a few passes to some things already for this year (like the zoo and a jump zone. . .)

      Like

      1. Hey Lacey– you know how to give your kids such a variety of experiences! I’ve never gone to a gym– but just turned 65 and got a “Silver Sneakers” (Isn’t that funny!!) card for free gym memberships! So I’m ready to give it a try! You post encouraged me to get going… Love reading your post Lacey! xo

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh Rhonda, Silver Sneakers sounds pretty awesome, and I love to hear about all your adventures. Please keep me posted on what you think of it.

        Like

Leave a Reply

