Week in Review

Week in Review 8/9/19

I hope everyone had a great week. Thanks for checking out my weekly series posted every Friday, Week in Review. Enjoy a recap of how the week went down, and tell me about yours.

1) What’s gotten my attention this week?

The Children’s Park at the Myriad Gardens. One evening when it was a bit cooler than usual my mom, the kids, and I loaded up to burn off some energy downtown. This isn’t very close to our house, so it’s not a park we hit up often. When we do though, everyone has the best time. The play area is unique and the grounds are beautiful.

 

2) What post should you check out?

Last week I mentioned we’ve been collaborating with Fox 25 on a project. I’m excited to share the 1st of a handful of Back to School segments we filmed with them. This was a lot of fun, and we appreciate the opportunity.

Check out these weekday breakfast ideas. The muffins and pancakes are perfect to make ahead of time and heat up during busy mornings. The oatmeal is quick and easy. Can you tell I’m hankering for fall?

3) What’s been going on this week?

Books. Books. And more books. We finished our summer reading program through the library. We read 1000 minutes together! The kiddos got to pick out a book to keep and got some free kids meal certificates. We’ve also been reading books about starting back to school, which I still can’t believe is next week. And I had my grownup book club meeting.

Children's Books for Starting School

4) What’s going on this weekend?

A BIG birthday party. My son and daughter’s birthdays are exactly 1 month apart. When they started planning their parties (months ago!) their ideas kept getting bigger and bigger and BIGGER. So I gave them a choice. They could have 2 smaller separate parties or 1 big joint party. The picked the joint party. I waited a while and asked again. They both were still good to go with the joint party. So all of our friends and family will be meeting up for a big swim party this weekend to celebrate this pair of awesome goofballs.

IMG_6493

5) Did you miss this post?

The Easiest (but Ulitmate) After School Snacks

IMG_6888

6) What did my kids create?

Fossils. My daughter decided she wants to be a paleontologist but got frustrated when she didn’t find any fossils in the backyard. So she made her own.

IMG_20190805_190000

Thanks for reading. How was your week? What are you up to this weekend?

– Lacey

 

14 thoughts on “Week in Review 8/9/19

  1. I like the idea of making your own fossils using that which you have at hand. Clever girl, that one. No need to get stuck on traditional definitions of what exactly is a fossil. Happy Weekend. Enjoy your party, you wild things.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. how cool is it that you are working with Fox on this series of videos. I’m sure your kiddos had fun and enjoy the taste testing too

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment